Defensive Driving Course logo
Welcome to our Free Defensive Driving Course!

This course is available for anyone who wants to learn how to become a safer driver. Need to dismiss a ticket or get an insurance discount? Check out our state-approved courses.

Introduction and Course Overview

Requirements for a Defensive Driving Certificate

A free defensive driving course is a great way to refresh your driving skills to help make you a safer driver. On the other hand, if you need a course for ticket dismissal, insurance discount, or to fulfill an employer requirement, you’ll need to take one that includes a certificate of completion.

A Certificate of Course Completion from a state-approved defensive driving course can get your ticket dismissed, save you 2-15% on your insurance, and keep your driving record clean.

Investing your time in a free defensive driving course to improve your safety on the road is certainly worthwhile. Investing a little money in a course with a certificate can not only keep you safe on the road, but put a little “cha-ching” in your pocket, too!

Requirements for receiving a defensive driving Certificate of Course Completion vary slightly from state to state, and in small things. Such things include age and license requirements, length of course, and time limits for completion. for the purposes of this post, we will use Texas-specific rules. If you decide to take a paid course in another state, be sure to check with your court or state DMV first.

How to Earn a Defensive Driving Certificate

Course Eligibility Requirements

The first step to earning a defensive driving certificate is to enroll in a course. Before you do, you’ll have to determine if you are eligible to take one.

Good news! Most Texas drivers are eligible to take a defensive driving course. You must:

  • Be at least 16 years old
  • Have a valid Texas driver’s license (operator, not a CDL) or permit
  • Not have completed a defensive driving course for ticket dismissal in the last 12 months

Make sure that the course you choose is state-approved and, if taking it for ticket dismissal, have court permission before enrolling.

Course Duration and Content

In Texas, defensive driving courses are available online or in a classroom setting. Either way you choose, the length of the course and the topics covered are the same. To earn your certificate, you’ll need to complete:

  • A minimum of 6 hours of instruction
  • All required course topics, including:
    1. Texas traffic laws
    2. Safe driving techniques
    3. Accident prevention strategies
    4. Effects of alcohol and drugs on driving
  • A test to see if you learned anything

The “test” will be in one of two formats. In person courses (and some online ones) feature a final exam. Some online courses (like ours) feature short quizzes at the end of each unit. In either format, a score of 70% is considered passing.

Getting a defensive driving certificate for ticket dismissal or an insurance discount is easy! Why not get started now?

Receiving Your Certificate

Once you’ve met the course requirements and passed the final assessment, your course provider will process your certificate. Most providers process certificates the same (or next) day you complete the course and then send it out by First Class US mail. This means you’ll wait an average of five business days after completion to receive your certificate.

Many online courses (again, like ours) provide expedited certificate delivery (by UPS, FedEx or the like) or “instant” certificate delivery. With instant certificate delivery you can print a copy of your certificate immediately upon completion of the course.

Using Your Certificate

Who Needs a Copy?

There are 3 cases where a driver might need a defensive driving certificate:

  • To fulfill a job requirement—Some employers will require drivers of company vehicles to complete a defensive driving course. If yours has, make sure to get them a copy.
  • For ticket dismissal—If you’re using your certificate for ticket dismissal, you’ll need to submit it to the court that issued the citation by the deadline provided on your ticket.
  • For an insurance discount—Submit your certificate directly to your insurance company. Defensive driving discounts stay in effect for three years.

If you are taking defensive driving for ticket dismissal, Texas allows you to “double-dip.” You can get your ticket dismissed and qualify for an insurance discount. After your course you will receive two copies of your completion certificate. Submit one to the court and the other to your insurance company. You’ll enjoy a clean driving record, a court fee less than the fine associated with your ticket, and a 2-15% discount on your insurance premiums for three years. When it’s all said and done, you may wind up making money just by getting a ticket!

Defensive Driving Certificates in a Nutshell

Let’s tie all this up with a pretty bow with this pretty picture…

Infographic Get a Defensive Driving Certificate #FreeCourse
It’s time to move on from your moving violation.
Learn More Start Your Course